The Easter Triduum (sometimes also referred to as the Paschal Triduum) is the proper name for the liturgical season that concludes Lent and introduces us to the joy of the Easter season.

Starting with the Mass of the Lord’s Supper on the evening of Holy Thursday, continuing through the Good Friday service and Holy Saturday, and concluding with vespers (evening prayer) on Easter Sunday, the Easter Triduum marks the most significant events of Holy Week (also known as Passiontide).

The Easter Triduum is often commonly referred to simply as the Triduum (with a capital T). However, a triduum is simply any three-day period of prayer, recalling the three days that Christ spent in the tomb.

Encompassing the final three days of the discipline of Lent, the Easter Triduum has traditionally been observed with even stricter fasting and abstinence, as well as prayer and almsgiving. Since 1956, however, the Paschal Triduum has been regarded as its own liturgical season, and thus liturgically Lent ends before the Mass of the Lord’s Supper on Holy Thursday.

The Days of the Easter Triduum:

  • Holy Thursday
  • Good Friday
  • Holy Saturday

So now you know that Holy Saturday is not an optional mass, it is different to the Sunday morning mass. Both Holy Saturday and the normal Sunday mass are still your day of obligations. (A.N.T)


No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *